CEPT University invites applications and nominations for the position of Dean of the Faculty of Architecture at CEPT University.

The Faculty of Architecture at CEPT University is the oldest faculty on campus.  Nurtured by some of the most accomplished and renowned figures in Indian Architecture – B. V. Doshi, Hasmukh Patel, Anant Raje, K. Varkey, K. B Jain and Neelkanth Chhaya – it is widely considered to be a vital center for education and research in architecture in India.  Many of its alumni are internationally recognized and distinguished academics and professionals.

Like all the faculties at the university, the Faculty of Architecture functions as a collaborative of fulltime faculty members and highly engaged practitioners who share teaching and institutional responsibilities. The Faculty of Architecture also has strong international links.  Its large number of exchange tie-ups brings many foreign students to CEPT University’s campus and ensures that almost half of its students are able to spend some time at a university abroad. The Faculty attracts many international researchers and lecturers.

This opportunity to lead one of the most influential and dynamic schools of architecture in India as its Dean should be very attractive for someone who is passionate about architectural education and research, and who is interested in engaging with Indian architecture by helping build the professionals and academics who will shape architectural discourse in the decades to come.

The Dean will be responsible for overseeing functioning of the faculty, mentoring and supporting staff members, encouraging research and attracting the most appropriate faculty members to teach at the Faculty. As a part of the ongoing re-imagining and renewal underway at the University, the Dean will also be expected to lead a process of curriculum and pedagogy review at the Faculty.

The candidate should have a good understanding and appreciation of the practical challenges and opportunities facing Indian architecture today. The person should also have global exposure and outlook, and appreciate international quality research. Excellent leadership abilities are also essential.  
Usually, Deans are appointed for a three-year period. Following a review at the end of the term the appointment can be extended for another three-year term.

The University is open to considering candidates from any location. The remuneration is competitive and commensurate with qualification and accomplishments of the candidate.

Priority consideration will be given to applications and nominations received by 15 January 2014, although the review process will continue until the position is filled. The position is available from 1 July 2014.

Electronic applications and nominations are preferred and may be submitted to the University Staff Office: [email protected]

Questions may be directed to:
Vishwanath Kashikar
Asst. Professor
Coordinator: B. Arch Program, Faculty of Architecture
Email: [email protected]

Search and Selection Committee for Dean, Faculty of Architecture

  • Krishna Shastri, Dean, Faculty of Design, CEPT University
  • Christopher Beninger, Director, CCBA
  • Darshini Mahadevia, Dean, Faculty of Planning, CEPT University
  • Pankaj Vir Gupta, Director, Vir-mueller
  • Bimal Patel