It has been 2 months since the Housing for All (Urban) mission has been launched, and there are 15 states that have agreed to the Centre's precondition of urban reforms. As of today, there are already 305 cities including towns that are about to start the construction of houses intended for the urban poor.

New Indian Express has detailed information of these states that have implemented the said housing reforms for the Urban poor. The estates are: "Andhra Pradesh, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Gujarat, Jammu & Kashmir, Jharkhand, Kerala, Madhya Pradesh, Manipur, Mizoram, Nagaland, Odisha, Rajasthan, Telangana and Uttarakhand."

The Ministry of Housing and Urban Poverty Alleviation has released a statement identifying the cities and towns of the 9 states only, the remaining 6 states have not identified which cities and towns will have the urban housing mission. The states with number of cities and towns are: Chattisgarh (36 cities/towns), Gujarat (30), Jammu & Kashmir (19), Jharkhand (15), Kerala (15), Madhya Pradesh (74), Odisha (42), Rajasthan (40) and Telangana (34)."

According to the report, the Central government will dole out assistance for the urban housing mission. The amount pledged by the Central government per house ranges from Rs 1 lakh to Rs 2.3 lakh.

Zee News India has recalled that the housing reform has been handled by the Housing and Urban Poverty Alleviation (HUPA). This "Housing for All" (also known as Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana) is also under the initiative of the central government, and has been launched on June 25, 2015 by Prime Minister Narendra Modi. Based on its timeline, there are 2 crore houses will be built for the urban poor in the areas identified above by 2022. This also falls on its 75th year of Independence.