COIMBATORE: The All India Council for Technical Education (AICTE) on Thursday constituted a seventh pay revision committee to revise the pay of teachers and technical support staff working in engineering and polytechnic colleges and other technical institutions.

The committee will be headed by S Rajashekharaiah, founder and vice-chancellor of Visvesvaraya Technological University in Belgaum, Karnataka.

The other members of the committee include K P Isaac, V-C of APJ Abdul Kalam Technological University, Thiruvananthapuram, Chetan Vaidya, Director School of Planning and Architecture, Delhi, Abhay Dharamsi, Dean, Faculty of Pharmacy, Parul University, Gujarat, S V Joshi, Government College of Engineering and Research, Awasari, Maharashtra, and Ashok Maheshwari, Director (Finance) Ministry of Human Resource Development.

AICTE Member Secretary A P Mittal will be the convener of the committee. Apart from revising pay of faculty, the apex regulatory body for technical education in the country has also entrusted the committee to make recommendation on ways and means for attracting and retaining talented persons in the teaching profession.

The committee will also make recommendations for improvement in the quality of research and encourage engagement with industry for their research requirements and improve quality of teaching and encourage or incentivise the use of advanced technology in teaching.

The committee will review the implementation of the previous decision under the scheme of revision of pay scales and evaluate the extent to which the earlier recommendations in relation to qualification, service condition and pay scale have been implemented.