eVolo Magazine is pleased to invite architects, students, engineers, designers, and artists from around the globe to take part in the 2019 Skyscraper Competition. Established in 2006, the annual Skyscraper Competition is one of the world’s most prestigious awards for high-rise architecture. It recognizes outstanding ideas that redefine skyscraper design through the implementation of novel technologies, materials, programs, aesthetics, and spatial organizations along with studies on globalization, flexibility, adaptability, and the digital revolution. It is a forum that examines the relationship between the skyscraper and the natural world, the skyscraper and the community, and the skyscraper and the city. 

 The participants should take into consideration the advances in technology, the exploration of sustainable systems, and the establishment of new urban and architectural methods to solve economic, social, and cultural problems of the contemporary city including the scarcity of natural resources and infrastructure and the exponential increase of inhabitants, pollution, economic division, and unplanned urban sprawl. 

 The competition is an investigation on the public and private space and the role of the individual and the collective in the creation of a dynamic and adaptive vertical community. It is also a response to the exploration and adaptation of new habitats and territories based on a dynamic equilibrium between man and nature – a new kind of responsive and adaptive design capable of intelligent growth through the self-regulation of its own systems. 

 There are no restrictions in regards to site, program or size. The objective is to provide maximum freedom to the participants to engage the project without constraints in the most creative way. What is a skyscraper in the 21st century? What are the historical, contextual, social, urban, and environmental responsibilities of these mega-structures? 


  • July 16, 2018 – Competition announcement and registration opens. 
  • November 20, 2018 – Early registration deadline 
  • January 29, 2019 – Late registration deadline 
  • February 12, 2019 – Project submission deadline (23:59 hours US Eastern Time) 
  • April 9, 2019 – Winners’ announcement


Melike Altınısık [Founder and design principal Melike Altınısık Architects] 
Vincent Callebaut [Founder and design principal Vincent Callebaut Architectures] 
Marc Fornes [Founder and design principal THEVERYMANY] 
Mitchell Joachim [Co-Founder and design principal of Terreform ONE]


1st place – US $5000 
2nd place – US $2000 
3rd place – US $1000

Winners, honorable mentions, and selected projects will be published in the forthcoming book EVOLO SKYSCRAPERS 4, the fourth book in the award-winning series.