The Design that Educates Awards (DtEA) investigate the educational potential of architecture and design. The ability to communicate the implemented solutions and features is the main theme of the awards. Such an informational layer of design and architecture provides an important (yet not fully explored) opportunity for a dialog between the user and the designer. The result—a new type of learning environment—provides a space for the exploration of both the design itself and its relation to the vaster context. Each year, the esteemed panel of judges will select the most outstanding examples. The objective of the awards is to recognize, showcase, and promote globally the best ideas and implementations of architecture and design that educate.

The awards are a multidisciplinary call for ideas and implementations in the categories of (1) architectural design, (2) product design, and (3) universal design. Deliberation about the entries will consist of two phases: (1) selection of the finalists and (2) selection of winners and laureates of honorable mentions. Entries will be evaluated based on the following criteria: feasible, verifiable, v isionary, original, and comprehensive. The theme of the awards has been inspired by the research called ‘Educating Buildings’ (‘Bildende Bauten’) by Dr. Peter Kuczia. The submitted ideas should refer to the competition theme and underline the educational potential of design. 

  • Team of professionals: Early 125 USD; Regular 150 USD; Late 175 USD  
  • Individual professional: Early 75 USD; Regular 100 USD; Late 125 USD  
  • Team of students: Early 50 USD; Regular 75 USD; Late 100 USD  
  • Individual student: Early 25 USD; Regular 50 USD; Late 75 USD  


  • Registration opens in October 2018  Early registration: until November 1, 2018  
  • Regular registration: until January 1, 2019  
  • Late registration: until February 1, 2019 
  • Project submission deadline: February 2, 2019  
  • Jury deliberation: February 2019  
  • Announcement of winners: March 1, 2019  
  • Awards ceremony: March 28–29, 2019 


  • The host of the awards is  Laka Foundation , a registered nonprofit and nongovernmental organization that operates through statutory charitable activities.  
  • Contact the organizer at  [email protected] .  
  • Official website of the Design that Educates Awards: 
  • The strategic partner of the awards is Solarlux GmbH: a German manufacturer of bi-folding glass doors, winter gardens, and façade solutions.