comparing language, anyone want to comment?...





What we do

The RIBA exists to advance architecture and promote excellence in the

It does this via an unrivalled programme of lectures, exhibitions and
events; works in schools, community architecture projects and community
architecture schemes.

It also runs a prestigious awards programme, the most significant of
which are the the Royal Gold Medal, which goes to an individual for a
distinguished body of work, and the annual £20,000 RIBA Stirling Prize,
for the building making the biggest contribution to British architecture.

For its 30,000-strong membership in the UK and abroad, the RIBA provides
specialist information and advice, practice promotion (via Client
Services), professional support, commercial products (via RIBA
Enterprises) and many social and cultural events.

The powerful collective voice of its membership is in constant dialogue
with government, clients, users and the construction industry (via the
policy department). The RIBA campaigns in defence of professional standards.

It consults widely via its system of expert committees on issues from
energy and conservation to planning and procurement (practice department).

To maintain competence in the profession the institute validates courses
in schools of architecture, both in the UK (education department) and
overseas. And chartered members, who commit themselves to life-long
learning, are served by the institute’s programme of continuing
professional development (CPD department).

All members have access to the world’s finest source of architectural
data – the British Architectural Library – with its 2,000 journals,
135,000 books, 800,000 photographs, and over a million drawings,
manuscripts and portraits.


Role of COA

The Council of Architecture (COA) has been constituted by the Government
of India under the provisions of the Architects Act, 1972, enacted by
the Parliament of India, which came into force on 1st September, 1972.
The Act provides for registration of Architects, standards of education,
recognized qualifications and standards of practice to be complied with
by the practicing architects. The Council of Architecture is charged
with the responsibility to regulate the education and practice of
profession throughout India besides maintaining the register of
architects. For this purpose, the Government of India has framed Rules
and Council of Architecture has framed Regulations as provided for in
the Architects Act, with the approval of Government of India.

Any person desirous of carrying on the profession of 'Architect' must
have registered himself with Council of Architecture. For the purpose of
registration, one must possess the requisite qualification as appended
to the Architects Act, after having undergone the education in
accordance with the Council of Architecture (Minimum Standards of
Architectural Education) Regulations, 1983. The registration with
Council of Architecture entitles a person to practice the profession of
architecture, provided he holds a Certificate of Registration with
up-to-date renewals. The registration also entitles a person to use the
title and style of Architect. The title and style of architect can also
be used by a firm of architects, of which all partners are registered
with COA. Limited Companies, Private/Public Companies, societies and
other juridical persons are not entitled to use the title and style of
architect nor are they entitled to practice the profession of
architecture. If any person falsely claims to be registered or misuses
title and style of architect, such acts tantamount to committing of a
criminal offence, which is punishable under section 36 or 37 (2) of the
Architects Act, 1972.

The practice of profession of an architect is governed by the Architects
(Professional Conduct) Regulations, 1989 (as amended in 2003), which
deals with professional ethics and etiquette, conditions of engagement
and scale of charges, architectural competition guidelines etc. Pursuant
to these Regulations, the Council of Architecture has framed guidelines
governing the various aspects of practice. An architect is required to
observe professional conduct as stipulated in the Regulations of 1989
and any violation thereof shall constitute a professional misconduct,
which will attract disciplinary action as stipulated under section 30 of
the Architects Act, 1972.

There are 108 institutions, which impart architectural education in
India leading to recognized qualifications. The standards of education
being imparted in these institutions (constituent colleges/departments
of universities, deemed universities, affiliated colleges/schools, IITs,
NITs and autonomous institutions) is governed by Council of Architecture
(Minimum Standards of Architectural Education) Regulations, 1983, which
set forth the requirement of eligibility for admission, course duration,
standards of staff & accommodation, course content, examination etc.
These standards as provided in the said Regulations are required to be
maintained by the institutions. The COA oversees the maintenance of the
standards periodically by way of conducting inspections through
Committees of Experts. The COA is required to keep the Central
Government informed of the standards being maintained by the
institutions and is empowered to make recommendations to the Government
of India with regard to recognition and de-recognition of a qualification.