| this gift economy we like!
| award awarders all award one-another
| (but, please, leave Vincent Scully out. guy
| wrote some good books)


News Release  from the National Building Museum

For Immediate Release: November 19, 2004
Contact: Annette Larkin, 202.508.9825
National Building Museum Announces
Winner of the 2005 Vincent Scully Prize

Washington, DC—The National Building Museum’s fifth Vincent Scully Prize
will be presented on January 25, 2005 to His Highness The Aga Khan, in
recognition of his contributions to promoting design excellence and
improving the built environment in the Muslim world.

The Vincent Scully Prize was established in 1999 to recognize exemplary
practice, scholarship or criticism in architecture, historic
preservation and urban design.

In 1977 His Highness The Aga Khan established The Aga Khan Award for
Architecture, the world’s largest prize for architecture. Presented
every three years, it recognizes not only architects for exemplary,
contemporary work, but also clients, individual and large builders,
governments and planners involved in projects that meet social
development needs in countries where Muslims have a significant
presence. In addition, through The Aga Khan Trust for Culture
established in 1988, The Aga Khan has supported numerous conservation
and urban revitalization projects in culturally significant sites of the
Islamic world.

His Highness The Aga Khan is the 49th hereditary Imam of the Shia Imami
Ismaili Muslims and a direct descendent of the Prophet Muhammad.

The Vincent Scully Prize will be presented to The Aga Khan at a
black-tie gala to be held at the National Building Museum on Tuesday,
January 25, 2005. His Highness will also participate in a public program
the following day which will include distinguished speakers talking
about the significance and impact of The Aga Khan Award for Architecture
and other current issues in architecture. Tickets for the award ceremony
and dinner may be purchased by calling 202.636.8745. Sponsorship levels
are available at $40,000 (Benefactor), $25,000 (Patron), $10,000
(Sponsor), $7,500 (Fellow), and $5,000 (Friend). Single tickets are
available for $500, $1,000, and $1,500.

On Wednesday, January 26, at 6 p.m. there will be a public program
titled “Design in the Islamic World and Its Impact Beyond.”
Participating in this program will be the internationally distinguished
architect Charles Correa from Bombay, India, and His Highness The Aga
Khan. As part of the program, Robert Ivy, editor-in-chief of
Architectural Record, will moderate a panel discussion. Tickets are $25
for National Building Museum members; $30, nonmembers; and $15,
students. Click here to register.

Vincent Scully is the Sterling Professor Emeritus of the history of art
at Yale University and a distinguished visiting professor at the
University of Miami. For more than four decades his teaching and
scholarship have profoundly influenced prominent architects and urban
planners. Past recipients of the prize have included Vincent J. Scully,
Jane Jacobs, Andres Duany & Elizabeth Plater-Zyberk, and Robert Venturi
& Denise Scott Brown.

The National Building Museum, created by an act of Congress in 1980, is
a private, nonprofit institution whose mission is to explore the world
we build for ourselves by examining and interpreting achievements in
architecture, planning, design, engineering and construction through
exhibitions, educational programming and publications. Museum hours are
Monday through Saturday, 10 am to 5 pm and Sunday from 11 am to 5 pm.
Admission is free.